D.C. Life

Wszalek_Photo1.png

Today marks the official half way mark of my internship. And I can confidently say that this has been one of the most intense and rewarding experiences of my life.

I’ve been fortunate enough to spend lots of time with my relatives who live in Alexandria Virginia. Not only is it nice to have a bit of an escape from the intensity of Washington but it’s also especially nice to have access to home cooked meals every now and then. Both of my relatives are federal prosecutors which has provided me with the opportunity to meet many cool people. The first week I was here I was able to meet Rod Rosenstein and many of his colleagues. It has been a very humbling experience being able to meet some of the people that make Washington run.

The first day of my internship I was nervous to say the least, the night before I don’t think I slept at all. And walking into my office the next day had me trembling, but my fears quickly subsided when my internship coordinator hugged me rather than shaking my hand. From that simple gesture, I knew I was in the right office. Because my boss, Representative Bobby Rush, represents the South Side of Chicago, the majority of his constituently are African Americans. And I was very happy with the fact that his staff accurately represents his constituency. Although sad but true, this has been the first time in my life that I have experienced total leadership from African American women. This experience has given me hope that maybe America is finally getting closer to some sort of equality.

Wszalek_Photo2.pngThe dynamic of my office is very laid back but there is still a very obvious sense of authority and power, especially when the congressman is in the office. Although laid back, everyone, including the interns are treated with the greatest respect. Stories from my fellow interns in other offices let me know just how lucky I am to be in my office. I’m not making constant coffee runs or only sorting the mail, instead they trust us enough to draft legislation and attend highly important meetings.

While the majority of my time in Washington has been work, I’ve had many opportunities to explore Washington.  The museums are amazing and the food has forced me to work out a little bit extra. I never realized until I was living here just how diverse this city is. I’ve been able to sample the cuisines and cultures of so many different places. Korean barbeque and Lebanese kabobs are quickly becoming my favorite new foods. But I can’t forget the endless breakfast buffets that dominate the city on a Sunday morning. Farmers and Distillers right outside of China town has never let me down on a sunny weekend morning.

My experiences in Washington are something I will never forget and they make me eager for more time here. It is an addicting city, the people, the food, and amazing sense of authority that the city commands, it is somewhere I hope my future one day leads me.

Leave a Reply

