Kid Power, Inc.

This summer, I am interning at a non-profit organization called “Kid Power, Inc.” Kid Power is a local nonprofit that primarily works to improve the lives of underprivileged children in the D.C metro area. To do this, Kid Power hosts free after school and summer programs for these kids. These programs are aimed to develop leadership and other desirable character traits that are important for later life. To do this, Kid Power tries to get kids civically engaged and aware of the political world around them. Additionally, Kid Power runs a program called VeggieTime, which has kids harvest and cook vegetables that they can later eat. This part of the Kid Power program serves multiple purposes. A lot of these kids live in areas where quality grocery stores are not accessible, so they are not able to consistently eat vegetables. This provides them with an opportunity not only to eat healthier, but to cook and harvest the vegetables–a skill they will possess for the rest of their lives.

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 2.19.14 PM

However, for my internship, I work in Kid Power’s office. This means I deal with more of the administrative aspects of the nonprofit than the direct interactions with the kids. This means that I do a lot of things that are necessary for keeping the nonprofit running smoothly. The first week I was there, I applied for a lot of community donation requests for our annual fundraiser’s silent auction. Every year, Kid Power hosts a fundraiser where the kids show off the skills they learned over the time they were with the program. There is also a silent auction that allows kids and their families to bid on fun activities that they might not be able to afford at retail price. To try and get items for the upcoming silent auction, I contacted sports teams in the region, local restaurants, toy stores, and other businesses to see if they would be interested in donating a gift card/tickets for our silent auction. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that a lot of these companies do a lot for nonprofits, and many of them offered to donate something to our silent auction.

IMG_4273        Additionally, over my weeks at Kid Power,  I have done a lot of filing. Although it is a mundane task, it is extremely important. This is because, because Kid Power is a nonprofit, all of its funding comes from grants. This means that every expense–from grocery store purchases to Uber receipts–needs to be photocopied and filed into the respective folder of the grant that paid for it. Given that there are over a thousand kids and almost one hundred employees in the program, there are a lot of expenses that need to be filed.

Overall, I like my internship. It isn’t the most exciting internship out there, but I know that the work I do is vital to keep Kid Power’s services and operations running smoothly. The people I work with are cool, and they keep the work interesting. Although I wish I worked with the kids more than I do, I still enjoy working in the office and I am glad I chose this as my internship.

Leave a Reply

