Yu on the Beauty of the Washington Monument and the Best Asian Food in DC

What appears in your mind when you think of Washington, DC? The White House, Capitol, or Lincoln Memorial? For me, a Chinese student, Washington, DC, is a city that I had only seen on CCTV (China Central Television) before I came to U.S., and I could only connect DC with politics. However, during this fall, I found the beautiful side of this city.

Unlike Illinois in which fall is always accompanied with strong wind, DC’s autumn is very warm. I went to Georgetown on a warm afternoon in early October. Georgetown is different from Capitol Hill or Dupont Circle where people always walk fast on their way to the office. Rather, Georgetown can make you relax and enjoy this historical city. Walking along the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal is the best thing to do in Georgetown. Away from crowds and traffic, strolling on the path, breathing the fresh air and listening to soothing music allowed me to not think about anything, and just enjoy that moment. I like the beautiful row houses along the street, as if they are telling me the stories belonging to last centuries. As a foodie, I could absolutely not forget Georgetown Cupcake, the best cupcakes in DC. The amazing cupcakes and cute store are worth the wait in the long line, and my favorite flavor is Lava Fudge.

Yu Gtown canal

The Washington Monument was my favorite attraction in DC. You can see it from far away, but you will not feel its dignified presence unless you stand at the foot of the memorial. I went to Washington Monument in a sunny afternoon as well. In fact, I did not mean to visit the Washington Monument, my purpose was to see the White House. However, when I saw Washington Monument in front of White House, I could not help walking towards it. I do not know how to express what I felt when I stood at the foot of Washington Monument. The 4 pm sunshine 4 pm made the Monument and surrounding landscape so beautiful that it looked like a painting. Looking from different aspect of Washington Monument will have different feeling. When I went to Lincoln Memorial, I could see the reflection of the Washington Monument in Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool.

As I said above I am a foodie, I like to find good restaurants when I live in a city. DC is a city where different cultures intermingle, thus there are many delicious foods from other countries. I like Asian food, thus I want to recommend several Asian restaurants for you. My favorite restaurant is Pho 75, a Vietnamese restaurant. As its name suggests, its signature dish is pho, a kind of Vietnamese rice noodles. I fell in love with it at the first bite. Korean food is my favorite food except for Chinese food, thus I cannot live without Korean food. Mandu, a Korean restaurant whose signature dish is bibimbap, is the first restaurant I went in DC. Except for bibimbap, I always order kimchi fried rice and kimchi soup since I am a “kimchi-lover”. I also adore Japanese food. The ramen of Daikaya Ramen is better than any Japanese restaurant in Champaign. There is always a long line no matter if you go for lunch or dinner.

DC is not a city you will love at the first sight, but you will love it when you live in the city day by day. DC has given me many beautiful memories, and I saw rainbow for the first time in my life here. One semester is too short to see all the beautiful scenes and learn about all the stories of this old city, thus I know I will definitely come back.